RECAP: 1st semester in Physiotherapy

I’ve completed my semester last year, here’s a recap.

Units I have taken:

  1. Anatomy
  2. Physiology
  3. General Psychology*
  4. University English*
  5. Islam and Asian Civilizations (TITAS)**
  6. Japanese*

*compulsory units to be taken in INTI / **MPU subjects/ credits not included

Anatomy:

The foundation of every physiotherapy course. We learned the anatomical names for positions, movements and planes, main organs of the cardiorespiratory system, digestive system, excretory system, some bone, cranial nerves etc.

Physiology:

Same as the above, but the physiology aspect of it.

General Psychology:

Psychology is currently a really popular course in Malaysia, Overall, the subject was interesting, different from what I usually study. But again,

University English:

I thought this subject was really unnecessary, as we all had English education for how many? at least 11 years of our school life. Thankfully it wasn’t grammar class, but an essay writing class, which might be useful in the future I guess? We learned argumentative essays, email writing, report writing, statistical analysis essays etc.

Islam and Asian Civilizations (TITAS):

Well, if you are Malaysian and you are pursuing your tertiary level education in Malaysia, congratulations! The Malaysian government has set MPU (mata pelajaran umum/general studies) as a compulsory set of units to be completed by students pursuing tertiary level education in Malaysia, which means you will have to pass these units in order to graduate 😦

I’m not sure about other universities but here at INTI, we only have face-to-face classes with the lecturer 3 times in the whole semester, the rest was mainly completing weekly quizzes in the online portal.

As for our big assignment, it was actually to help organize OR participate in a cultural event. For my semester, it was a Deepavali celebration. There was dancing, singing, muruku making and also a saree competition.

Japanese:

Actually there were 4 foreign languages you can choose from: Chinese, French, German, Japanese. Why I chose Japanese? because I do watch a little anime, plus I had intentions to learn Japanese anyway (thanks to my no-English experience in Tokyo), this would be a good head start for me. Basically throughout the semester, I learn some basic conversation in Japanese and learn how to read and write Hiragana and Katakana. It was a pretty relaxing class compared to the other units I was taking.

Leave a Reply

